Tags

, , , , , , , ,

We all like gifts. Surprise gifts, expected gifts, gifts gifts gifts.

My husband and I have a humble little home. Nothing too grand. We are slowly making purchases to have the things we need (and want) in our home.

We’ve made the necessary cuts with the economy to still live comfortably, while cutting down on our bills. No more newspaper on the door step for the literary nut (me). No more cable TV for the sportsman (him). We have a small TV, nothing fancy. But with no cable, all we do is watch movies. This is fine with both of us -although I’m not really convinced we are saving by cutting off the cable, because it’s now created a pawn-shop addiction in my husband-. Movies are $2 brand new at a pawnshop in town. I think he winds up paying their electricity bills.

Lately we’ve been working on giving our finances over to the Lord. Asking him to help us in every way, whether it’s in organization, budgeting skills, or how to give to others. We pay an offering at church, which is not mandatory. The past month or so, our pastor has created a financial prayer for everyone in the congregation to read together. It asks for blessings over our offering, over our finances at home, our businesses, debts, wages, educational funds, etc. I love the prayer, and feel great strength when I read it aloud at church. I believe it works.

A few nights ago, I got a call from my close friend, J. She asked if I wanted a new TV. One of her husband’s friends was moving, and needed to get rid of his TV so it wouldn’t get ruined in storage. The TV is larger and a little nicer than the one we currently had. Of course we said yes, and it was soon delivered.

What a blessing from God. Neither my husband nor I were praying for a new TV, in fact, it wasn’t even on our minds to get an additional one. At first I was trying to figure out who we could give it to, why we received it, but then my women’s bible study group came over a few days after the TV delivery, and they told me to just enjoy it. It’s a gift from God, and he gives abundantly.

God’s blessings come in all shapes and sizes, all types of packaging. Sometimes they aren’t as flashy on the outside as a new TV. Sometimes it’s a hug from a friend, sometimes it’s when you help someone else that you are blessed. The more you give, the more you are blessed. God will provide for you, and then some.

And if you were wondering, yes. We will be getting cable again.

God can pour on the blessings in astonishing ways so that you’re ready for anything and everything, more than just ready to do what needs to be done.” 2 Corinthians 9:8 (The Message)

