Tags

, , , , , ,

“In your struggle against sin, you have not yet resisted to the point of shedding your blood.” Hebrews 12:4 (NIV)

I am far from perfect. Those of you who know me know that I try to be as close to perfect as possible, but in most areas I fail miserably. Before I knew Jesus, I was very prideful. It’s not that I thought I was perfect, it’s that I didn’t care if I chose right or wrong. This comes from years of swallowing guilt in overflowing plates full, thinking every breath was a step in the wrong direction, a mistake. I was the two extremes, and now I rest peacefully in the middle. I fix my eyes on my Lord, and strive to be humble, slow to anger, patient, virtuous, lovely, and so on. But I also know that no one is perfect like Jesus was. I strive to be the perfect wife, woman, employee, friend, but I make mistakes. Fortunately, I married a man who readily and lovingly forgives me, because he, too, knows I’m only human. My friends are similar, and better yet, my God is the best of forgivers. When I am wrong, he helps me gently (in most cases) see what I have done, and guides me to fix the problem. He never leaves me as I try to right my wrongs. He is with me, inside of me, supporting me.

There is absolutely no way that I could have died on the cross for the sins of the world. I am too wrong. I make too many mistakes. I wouldn’t be able to handle it. I don’t want to be the one. The only one who can and will ever be able to take on the sins of the world is Jesus Christ. He did that very thing for you, for me, for everyone.  All he asks of us in return is that we admit that we are sinners, and ask him to be our personal Savior, who will be our rock, our refuge, our rescuer. In exchange for this, he will give the gift of eternal life.  As we begin the holiday season, I truly believe there is no greater gift than eternal life with my personal Savior.

