Tags

, , , ,

Not that I’m trying to, but I cannot get away from this scripture:

Give thanks to the Lord, for he is good. His love endures forever. Give thanks to the God of heaven. His love endures forever.” Psalm 136 1 and 26 (NIV).

Everywhere I turn, I am finding this scripture. I was reminded of it on Thanksgiving day, and I did thank my Lord for everything, and for his unfailing love for me. I have randomly flipped to this passage in the Bible, seen it in e-mail devotionals, found it written on a note stuck to some papers in my purse. Am I not thanking my God enough? Or do I not yet understand the meaning of the scripture?

I am reminded of the Shane and Shane song based on this scripture. What a beautiful song that really captures the intensity of the words “endure” and “forever”.

When my husband and I were dating, and I was a new Christian, he said something profound to me about God’s love. We were watching music videos to some beautiful worship songs by Hillsong United, and out of the blue he said “God is the only man who will never break your heart, leave your side, or disappoint you.” This is not to say that my husband has ever hurt my heart, but the fact is that we, as humans, have the ability to hurt one another, often times without meaning to.

What a beautiful relationship I have with God. Even though I make mistakes and don’t listen, God loves me. As I strive to be like God, I fix my eyes on him and give him thanks for his unfailing, enduring, forever love.

Oh great Lover of my soul, thank you for sending Jesus as the demonstration of your love. I love you Father. I love you for who you are and what you have done. I love you for what you have promised. I love you for the blessings you shower upon me, even when I am undeserving. I love you for giving me hope in a hopeless world. I love you because you first loved me. I love you because you are worthy of all love and praise. But I confess that my love is not as strong as yours, so please, fill me with your love by the power of the Holy Spirit. Through Jesus I lift my heart to you. Amen.”

