Tags

, , , , , , , ,

“Take hold of my words with all your heart…” Proverbs 4:4 (NIV)

 

How lovely is this verse. When our world is spinning out of control, we can keep God right in our hearts so he can be our compass.

Early in life I was taught to memorize scriptures so I could defend my religion. But years later, a pastor taught me not to recite the word of God to be prideful or vain, or simply to recite it. He also taught me not to cast stones at those who are different or who are sinning (glass house theory here… I’d have a lot of broken windows in my house) but to open my arms in welcome and to invite them to get to know God with me. Now I see that it is important to know the word of God so that in desperate times of need, anger, fear, or temptation, I can call on God. I can call on my rock, my refuge, and crawl into his hands for safe keeping.

My heart embraces his word. What a lovely, full feeling it brings me.

