Tags

, , , , , , ,

Last week, a pastor from the Southern U.S. mentioned that he was trying to focus on one word for the entire year. Instead of setting a lengthy list of New Year’s resolutions that he wouldn’t keep, he decided to pick one word. His word has not yet been revealed; he was interviewed on the radio, and said he would spend the first few weeks in January selecting and praying about his word. The resolution begins February 1, 2011.

How beautiful would it be to focus on one word or phrase for the whole year? I enjoyed this idea, and instantly started planning what I would focus on. Maybe I will select a Bible verse or phrase on which to meditate for six months, and then add a second verse or phrase to enrich and refresh the second six months of the year.

My selection for 2011:

Love. “And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.” 1 Corinthians 13:13.

Love should be everywhere, in every thing I do, according to God. My husband and I just celebrated our first wedding anniversary, and let me tell you, we are not professionals at marriage. The first year was hard, instead of being blissful, like we once naively thought. Now that we have the adjustment period out of the way, I would like to focus on loving my husband more than I did this last year. Let me be transparent for a moment. Yes I love my husband. But I was awfully resentful this past year when things didn’t go according to my expectations, my plan, my timeline, etc. I would like to focus on LOVE for the year of 2011. True love. Real love. Loving my God, my husband, my neighbor, my church family, strangers, customers, cashiers at the grocery store, children, and so on.

My prayer:

Dear God, during the year of 2011 I pray to you that I will have love in my veins for everything I do. Let me learn how to love like you do, so that I can learn of, and experience, such a fulfilling love. Let me dedicate this year to you, Lord, and love you, myself, and your children. During this year, Father God, I pray that you bring into my life those who are hurting, broken, wounded, and feeling unloved. Let me show them the love you have for them, no matter what they have done or what they believe. Lord I know that your love is unfailing, and non-judgemental. Let me love like you.
In your holy and magnificent name, amen.

 

