Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,


I always wanted to get married in a creative location. A cemetery, as morbid as it sounds, was my first choice. It was the idea of, “This is where it begins, this is where it ends” had me enthralled. Plus, I think cemeteries offer a tranquility not offered in a church or cathedral. Others may oppose.

The fact that I married my Marine rather quickly before being stationed overseas (and before his deployment) meant that we would be getting married in January. A January wedding in a cemetery sounded anything less than ideal, and I don’t think I would ever have gotten my family on board with the idea anyway. We tend to differ in terms of opinions. I’d have to think of something else.

What about a subway train, barreling into the heart of a historic city such as London?What a play on being ready to take the “Ride of a Lifetime”. Also a knock at “For Better or For Worse”. I am not an adrenaline junkie whatsoever, so if the ride/ceremony were “For Worse,” then I could handle what was to come. I could just picture it. The last train to London for the evening, and once the ceremony was finished, we’d be in London, ready to celebrate well into the next day.

Unfortunately, all of our families were living in the United States, including Puerto Rico, so a destination wedding to London didn’t seem like the best idea, financially speaking. Hmm, what was Plan C?

A courthouse wedding, like many other short-term engaged military couples. My then fiance and I volleyed the idea, enjoying the fact that not many people would be staring at us, and we wouldn’t have to dance center ballroom floor; but it just seemed so impersonal for us.

On to plan D; a Christian wedding in sanctuary of a church in the South. The historic area where we got married would be my London subway ride. The low lighting and black and gray color scheme of the sanctuary would be my wrought-iron cemetery gates.

To this day, though, my heart flutters a bit when my husband and I ride past a cemetery. I beg him to go walk through the maze of headstones with me, if only just for a moment. I’d love to tell him “I do” again.

