Tags

, , , , , , ,

I’m a Facebook “like-button” whore.

Long ago I cleansed my vocabulary of the word “like”. More specifically, I stopped saying “like” when I paused between words, or couldn’t think of anything else. Here’s how I used to sound:

“Have you, like, seen her new car? Like oh my gosh, it’s like the coolest car in the school! I totally can’t believe she like just started driving, and like her daddy bought her a brand new car.”

I am not blonde, nor was I a valley girl, but the “like” was a stamp of my teenagehood.  Like I said, the word is gone now.

Now there is another “like” that I seem to be addicted to.

When I see a cute baby, a wedding album, a thought-provoking quotation, or something funny, I instantly click on the Facebook “like” button. I’m addicted to stalking my friends (sorry!) who seemingly have more interesting lives than me. My picture uploads tend to be the daily grind-type of stuff around the house. The second I can get my mouse on a wedding album, I’m click click clicking away.

Often times I fear that everyone can see that I “like” a large number of items in one day. Remember when MySpace faked that you could see who was stalking your profile, and how many times they’d viewed your page? Well thank goodness Facebook doesn’t have the same thing (yet), and that applies to the “like” button, too.

“See how many news feed items Caitlin has ‘liked’ today. Are there any on which she didn’t click ‘like’?” Answer: No. I would be caught in a defensive stance, hands in the “you got me” position, covered in red-handedness. “I ‘liked’ too many things today.”

There should be a Facebook-Addict group. Please, Lord, don’t let it be an online forum. I can see it now, the FAA (in person). Facebook Addicts Anonymous. (Note: Do not confuse this with the Federal Aviation Administration.) The FAA would have nametags that say “Friend me @Caitlin ____” and there would be fruit punch on the refreshment table, which, inevitably, someone will spike.

Not to make light of any  _______  Anonymous group, but I think the FAA would break annual attendance records, and it’s only the beginning of 2011!

By the way, please “like” this post!

