Tags

, , ,

Good morning, and happy Valentine’s day.  I took this image and gave it to my husband, who loved it!

1 Colossians 18-20: “Wives, submit yourselves to your husbands, as is fitting in the Lord. Husbands, love your wives and do not be harsh with them. Children, obey your parents in everything, for this pleases the Lord.” (NIV)

I am so deeply grateful for the wonderful Valentine I have today, my fabulous husband. I truly love him with all of my heart. Thanks to the military, this is our first Valentine’s day spent together.

~

When I was in first grade, my mom was my Valentine. I woke up on Valentine’s day, and had a card and a gift waiting for me at the breakfast counter. I remember the big beautiful red heart-shaped sucker Mom gave me. She died the milk in my thermos pink, and packed the sucker in my lunch. At lunchtime that day, I remember trying to hide the sucker behind my back, as some of the kids made fun of me because my Valentine was not a boy, but it was my mom. Thank you, but I was not even interested in boys. Really, I think they were just jealous that I had a big red sucker.

I twirled that sucker behind my back, and pretended I didn’t have anything, until the sucker flew out of my hands, and shattered on the white linoleum floor. Seeing that red heart sucker in pieces on the floor broke my little heart. Not only had I wanted the sucker, but I felt like I had let my Valentine down.

~

Whoever your Valentine is today, tell them you love them. Don’t be ashamed if it’s not a boyfriend or girlfriend. Love those who you come into contact with. Love your grandparents, your neighbors, or anyone else who doesn’t have a Valentine this day.

CD

