Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Image via elsaelsa.com

First thing every morning I turn on my trusty BlackBerry to read the emails that have come in overnight. I get emails from Lysa TerKeurst‘s blog, bible verses,  “Eat This Not That,” and other encouraging emails. I also used to get my horoscope sent to me from Yahoo! mail. Most of the time I would lay in bed and read my horoscope thinking, “Hmmmm, interesting…” I didn’t think it would actually predict my entire day, but still, I was addicted to reading it. Daily. For years.

Recently there’s been a lot of hype about the Zodiac signs shifting, based on the addition of a new sign. It’s actually old news from the fourth century, but you can read more about it here.  The addition of Ophiuchus (though it’s claimed not to actually be a part of the Zodiac) is responsible for shifting the dates of the other Zodiac signs, meaning someone who was previously a Cancer sign might now be a Gemini sign.

Here is a look at the new chart: 

Image via buzzhollywood.com

 Although I had always wanted the Taurus bull symbol tattooed on me (because I was a Taurus to the core), I am glad I didn’t. The reason might surprise you, as it’s not because of the addition of Ophiuchus, which would mean I’m no longer a Taurus. It’s because of something mentioned by my Pastor. I will do my best to say it as he did, but it was one of those “you had to be there” moments.

Why would I rely on the stars to tell me how my day is going to be, how I can help others, or what’s going to happen to me, when I can rely on God? He is, after all, the maker of the stars and the universe, the sun and the moon- all things astrology relies on. God, as the author and the creator, is the one who I should look to.

When I heard that message mentioned in a sermon, it dawned on me that I was looking to something false for direction, even if I didn’t take my horoscope all that seriously. I was doing this in addition to praying to God for direction. 

It’s a simple message, but I believe it’s a good one. Afterall, Jesus is my strength; not the stars, and not some silly phrase that thousands of other Taurus’ rely on. I vowed that day in church never again to read my horoscope, or rely on anything or anyone but God.

The stars do give off light, but that is only because of God. The light of God is far brighter than the stars ever will be.

“By the word of the Lord the heavens were made,
   their starry host by the breath of his mouth.”
Psalm 33:6

