Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Dedicated to J. and C.

Not only is Dad's shirt awesome, but Mom made it for him.

I spent a very long time stumbling around the stage of life where my parents were not cool enough to be graced by my presence. In my earlier years I was a very stuck up, sneakily disobedient, and was much smarter than my parents, of course. By definition, I was a normal teenager.

Those behaviors have changed since I went to college, lived and worked on my own after college, met a handsome someone, got married, and moved around the US.

My parents are coming to visit my husband and me tomorrow, and I couldn’t be happier than my little six-year-old self on Christmas eve, except that I used to fill myself with such anxiety that I’d take on flu-like symptoms. Puking from excitement? Yes, it’s possible. Needless to say, I’m excited to see my parents, but I’ll keep the puking to a minimum.

– – –

These days I see my parents not as nerdy folks who go to bed at 9:30 p.m. on New Year’s eve (not a bad idea) but as knowledge-filled vessels with long, sturdy spouts. They easily tip to one side or the other to fill me up with their knowledge. Here are the random, but useful things I’ve learned over the years:

-How to check the oil in my car
-How to sew on a button/mend a hole
-How to have a firm handshake and present myself confidently
-Believing in a higher power cultivates life
-It’s always a good idea to have a flashlight and a knife close by
-Hard work is worth the…work
-Liquid dish soap does NOT belong in the dishwasher
-Steady, aim, fire
-A smile is the best accessory to any outfit
-Reading enriches life
-Work hard, play hard
-Marriage is worth fighting for, not about
-Lights do not turn themselves off. Electricity bills do not pay themselves
-A fast shower is a happy water bill
-Seek positivity in everything
-Always send a thank you note

I’d like to take a moment to thank my fans, a.k.a my parents. Thanks for putting up with me, and for seeing me through. I may have turned out completely opposite from who they tried to raise, but I didn’t turn out all that bad, did I?

Ok, back to the record at hand, I’m looking forward to spending time with my parents. It’s been over a year, and they’ve not seen this part of the country in years. I have my meals planned out already, the grocery shopping done, the sheets clean, bed made, activities planned (anyone sensing a theme? They are very active and very much planners. “What do you wanna do?” “I dunno, what do you wanna do?” won’t fly in this fam).

We’ll visit the beach, walk the dog together, view the humbling tornado damage, cook together, play games, laugh, and learn a whole bunch of new things!

My parents are so cool, I can’t wait to show them off in public.
CD

