Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Ok, that’s it!

For too long, I’ve had split personalities. Not really, but hear me out.
I have the professional me, the “reserved” me, vs. the fun-loving, hip chick. Ok, ok, I might not be that hip, since I’m usually dragging my heels to embrace new technology (who was comfortable with her BlackBerry for four years? Me…) and I don’t know what the heck the three-letter phrases are that kids use these days. Did you know that “HMU” means “Hit me up” (as in, text me)?

So if I’m not hip, at least I have that side of me that’s funky/spunky/fun. The problem is, I spend too much of my time showing the professional and reserved self; the one who isn’t as fun to be around. Sure it impresses employers, but I’m tired of being like that all the time.

I’ve decided to give up. Not on anything important, but to give up on the Caitlin who plays the roles of employee, boss, serious-business girl.

Hello, freedom! I feel liberated, and can’t wait to start this new phase of life.

Drake plays in the background. I’m sipping a bellini.

I’m going to get another tattoo, by the way. Call me a tattoo whore – it won’t bother me. I am passionately in love with passion, and I also wear my heart on my sleeve. This is what I want my next tattoo to be:

Via tattoolit.com

I don’t like the “follow me” crap, but I love the heart! No, I won’t be sharing my tattoo with anyone like these two love birds, but I can envision a sketched heart similar to this on my inner forearm.

A lot of people have asked me, “What about future jobs you want? Will you be able to get hired with tattoos?” That’s the thing. My career field isn’t exactly tattoo-friendly, but why can’t it be? Tattoos don’t change my work ethic. They don’t change my personality or my heart. They just change my appearance.

To all my fellow tattooed bloggers and readers, tattoo on. It gets old pleasing other people all the time, not leaving any energy for yourself.

CD

