Tags

, , , , , , ,

You’ve heard of buyers remorse, I’m sure. I used to get pangs of guilt from endless shopping in my single days. I was taught to be frugal with my money, and was afraid of the ever-seeing eyes of mom, even across state borders.

I smartened up a few years ago, and now I have the opposite problem. More often than not, I refuse to spend money, and then have pangs of guilt when I see my husband’s pouty face that I refused a date to the driving range in swap for a night at home with things we already own (already paid for!).

Instead of collecting clutter and “stuff” for my house, I’ve opted to spend my time throwing things away or recycling. This week I saw an article in the June Real Simple magazine about displaying items you collect. Listed were glass and dishware, shells and sea-related items, dice and knickknacks, and more!

No can do for this girl. I can’t stand “stuff.” In fact, as soon as I finished the June issue, I threw it in the recycling bin! I just finished my Reader’s Digest magazine, and the same thing happened. I got up, (rolled over my toe with the desk chair!) and walked to the overflowing recycling bin, and tossed that sucker.

I say it’s time to deep clean if you’re prone to collecting things like: clutter, stuff, old mail, dirty laundry, expired coupons, or Ketchup packets from McD’s. Hoarders of America, UNITE! It’s time to empty the house, clean out the clutter, and in return, enjoy a clean, happy home.

Disclaimer:
I am known to physically and emotionally hold on to cards (birthday, mostly) for too long. Hand made ones are impossible for me to throw away. I always think to myself, “What if this person passes away, and this is the last card they will have ever sent me?”. In that case, I could organize a system in which I rotate out my card-collection annually. But that sounds like too much work! So, I save the very important ones, and force myself to rid my counter top, foyer table, and file folders of old cards.

