Tags

, , , , , , ,

image

image

image

image

Yesterday my husband and I happened upon a quaint looking Chinese restaurant, and decided to stop in. First of all, Chinese is not my favorite type of food (by any means) mostly because of the torture it leaves on my insides. Second, it seems when Forest Gump said “Life is like a box of chocolates; you never know what you’re going to get,” he was refering also to Chinese restaurants. One for the surprise food items, two because once you go to Olive Garden, you know what to expect at a different OG. Such is not the case with different Chinese restaurants.

This place we found yesterday (neither of us know the name…) Featured hibachi, which was what drew us in. I pulled at the heavy wooden doors and walked hesitantly into the lush red carpeted building, and immediately noticed the long gold drapes that belonged in the “Gone With the Wind” era. I grabbed a to-go menu just to look it over, and we got seated right away. The place was clean, the service was prompt, and the food was tasty (surprisingly).

As I waited for my ice cold water to be served, I  rested my elbows on the table and glanced over the to-go menu, noticing some rather obvious spelling and grammar mistakes.

I’m a little torn in posting this. You see, I get that this family (assuming, of course, that it’s a family) came to America, the little entrepreneurs, them! I bet it’s hard to learn English after being raised speaking an Asian lanquague, just as it would be to learn Tagalog or Mandarin Chinese for me. But spell check from a person who speaks the language of the country in which you live would greatly benefit a business.

Don’t take me that serious. My husband helps pay the bills of many a Chinese restaurant (by frequenting them!). I just think the pictures say it all.

Has anyone seen my chcosticks?

