Tags

, , , , , , ,

What’s in a name? In mine there’s seven letters, and a lot of room for error. My name, as you can see on my personal page, is Caitlin. That’s Caitlin with a “C” not a “K,” two “i”‘s and no “y”.

When I was in-womb, I was to be a Megan or a Caitlin. Both pose the opportunity for many repeated spellings, but I’m glad I wound up with Caitlin. Except that the last time I counted, there were several other spellings, much confusing the exact spelling of MY name.

Kaitlin, Kaitlyn, Katelyn, Kaytlyn, Katelynn, Kaitlynn, Caitlyn, Catelyn, Caitlynn, Catelynn, Caytlyn, Catlynn.

See what I mean? And that’s probably not all of the possible spellings.

Cait
Another problem posed is my nickname. I’ve always been called by my full name, except by an ex-boyfriend, and my dad. They both called me “Cait.” The boyfriend I dumped, but my dad… he can get away with it.

Cat
In college people started calling me “Cat.” I was flattered, as it’s a sexy name, but I wondered if I really seemed like a “Cat” (name wise). The fact that I despise the feline type of “cat” didn’t help much either.

Yuor Lats Nmae Heer
My last name poses a similar problem, though not necessarily with spelling, but more so pronunciation. Somehow the letters get transposed, and someone undoubtedly asks if I’m Italian. Well, first of all, that’s my married name, so no, I’m not Italian, and second of all, neither is my husband.

Caitlin
So it’s Caitlin. Just Caitlin. C-a-i-t-l-i-n. Not Catlin, Katelynn, or C8tLn.

There’s power in a name. Just make sure you get it right.

