Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I need to give a big shout out to my in-laws. {Here it is: BIG SHOUT OUT!!!!} Thanks mama and pops for letting us crash at your pad.

When my husband got out of the military, we decided to live with family (said in-laws) instead of using our savings for a mortgage, since we didn’t where I would get a job, and didn’t know where to buy a home. My husband will be finishing his degree at a very fancy shmancy art college, so I really (…really…) need a job.

Desperate times call for desperate measures. Us, the newly-ish weds. On the road to 30 years old, and living at home. I thought it would be bad not having our own space, but we’ve adjusted well. It’s not as bad as it sounds, at all!

Sometimes in my recent blogs I’ve mentioned our “studio apartment.” You guessed it, it’s just one bedroom in their home. It’s small, but I’m thankful for the opportunity to have a lot of close time with my husband, (and I mean a LOT, since I’m unemployed, and school is not in session) and with my family here. I love getting to know my sister-in-law better, (well, everyone, really) and what better way to do that, than to live together?

I love that my in-laws are bilingual. I’ve brushed up on my Spanish, learned of some new meals (some that I politely tried, huh Mama, but probably won’t ever make [the Dominican meal…]). I’ve met extended family, and learned that they all have such big, warm hearts.

My father-in-law makes the best coffee, and always makes plenty for me. My mother-in-law is so level-headed, and gives the best advice.

I love that my in-laws are so welcoming. They welcomed me with open arms when I married my husband, and they were no different when we moved in. They are so wise, but never pass judgement on us. They are good examples of hard-working parents who know how to relax and have a good time, and spend their time loving family, neighbors, and friends.

I’m truly blessed to be a part of this family.
Everyone gets two families in life. The one they’re born into, and the one they choose.

I couldn’t have chosen better.

 

