Tags

, , , , , ,

1 Corinthians 13:4-8

 4 “Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. 5 It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. 6 Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. 7 It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.
8 Love never fails.”

Most people write, on average, ten goals at the start of the new year. How many are actually realistic? They are probably broken into a few categories such as “short-term” and “long-term,” “home,” “career,” “family,” or “spiritual.” Some are realistic, some are not. Some are put into movement, some are not. For more on goal setting, you can click here.

At the start of 2011, I decided on a one-word resolution for myself. You can read the post here. Instead of making a list of ten things I might forget I ever wrote down, I chose to focus on one single word/thought/action. The word I chose was “love.”
As 2011 dwindles down into mere days and hours, it’s time to share how I’ve done.
Well? I think I did ok. My husband says I did well, but I know there is always (always) room for improvement.

Here are some of the things I did to show love:
Worship and praise God regularly so he knows my love for him.
Learn more about God to learn of his great love.
Pray for my husband.
Show (not just tell) my husband that I love him.
Care for the homeless. (I only participated in one event for this in 2011… major room for improvement.)
Love those who are hurting or unloved.
Share my love of the gospel with others.

On Thanksgiving day I went for a walk with my wonderful Aunt. In my arms I carried my one and a half year-old nephew, whose head bobbed against my chin as he napped.  I told my Aunt about my one-word resolution, and she described how for years she’s stumbled upon (rather than planned) a theme which she focused on for the entire year.  I much enjoyed the idea of a theme, and decided whatever I call it, I like the idea of focusing on one thing intently for the year, while simultaneously setting goals for my health, money management, relationships, career, etc.

Stay tuned as I gear up to reveal my theme for 2012.
Until then, wishing you a blessed close of the year, and a happy New Year.

