Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Thessalonians 1:3

 We ought always to thank God for you, brothers and sisters,[a] and rightly so, because your faith is growing more and more, and the love all of you have for one another is increasing.

Public displays of affection are everywhere. Magazines, Facebook statuses, Twit pics (guilty), and of course, in person. Teens holding hands and smooching, (Gross! Too young!) Elderly couples with their arms around each other (totally acceptable) and many more occasions that we won’t discuss. On the way home today I heard the Christian radio station talking about PDFs, instead of PDAs, that is… public displays of faith. Do you pray for people in public, share the gospel with others, or share scriptures from God’s word with those in need?

Publicly displaying our faith can, and will, bless others. Some of the best moments and closest moments with God come to me when I’m not thinking about myself or asking God for this or for that, or checking things off my prayer list. It’s when I’m showing God’s love to his other children.

In the moments when I hear God tell me, “Pray with that woman,” (the stranger, the addict, the one with screaming kids, the one heartbroken but smiling in an aisle, the one who hasn’t showered in a while…) sometimes I think I can slide by with “Ok, God, I’ll pray for her.” Then I hear his voice again saying gently, “WITH her. Not for her.” Praying with God’s children is a way to display faith.

A few months ago I still thought of the word “enemy” in a grade-school mentality, like a bully, or a catty little girl. Then a coworker pointed out that enemies are not (necessarily) people who we cannot stand, but they are people who we are spiritually at war with, who cause pain and heartache, who are evil and do not align with our hearts. Praying for your enemies is a way to display faith.

There are times that people aggravate me. I mean, I think that’s pretty normal. A Starbucks barista who can’t get it straight, someone on the other end of the phone who can’t get you what you want, a stranger with a bad attitude, someone not holding the door for you when you are clearly right behind them. It’s at those times when you hold your tongue and show them love, that you are displaying your faith. Instead of cursing those who do you wrong, bless them.

How have you, and how will you display your faith for others to see? What if you are the ONLY example of a believer of Christ that someone will witness? What kind of a message are you sending?

Share your thoughts!
CD

