Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

As a child I enjoyed the arrival of the newspaper each day. I’ve always loved to read, but I especially couldn’t wait to view the comics and one particular section few paid attention to. Back then it wasn’t called the “Travel” section, it was just a section about the Western region. I remember reading thinking, “Isn’t there more than just the West?” One day I noticed a section about other cities in places I was unfamiliar with.

I would lean with my elbows on the bottom of the paper, ink stains on my skin, running my finger over the list that showed the temperature highs and lows for cities around the world the previous day. My mother tried to convince me that every major city was listed: Tokyo, London, Sao Paulo, Madrid, etc. I wasn’t convinced. I was starting to learn that the world was much bigger than Denver and the West.

In fifth grade I aced the US geography test of all 50 states (we weren’t tested on Puerto Rico/Guam). This would lead to later courses in college in which I did equally as well with world geography.

I think I always knew I would travel and live in many places; I’ve always been so curious about other countries and cultures. This is probably why I loved my Anthropology course, with all the tongue-clicking language practice and stories of families that lived more like Wolf-packs than the family scene I was used to. 

I guess I’m not a “traveler” by definition, but for any upper-20’s aged woman, I’ve sure lived in a lot of states- eight to be exact. (Most moves happened after the age of 18.) In each place, I always sensed I was in a “stepping stone” position- meaning I would soon be elsewhere.

This morning I found an article about the US cities in which children are most spoiled. Surprisingly Beverly Hills was not #1, rather Manhattan was. Santa Monica was second.

Something happened to me as I viewed pictures of each city on the list. I kept turning the page: Ft. Worth, Minneapolis, Tulsa (wasn’t expecting that!), Miami, and then farther down the list: Atlanta. My heart leapt as I saw the picture. It had nothing to do with the article, but everything to do with love. I recognized the city before I read the caption, and I felt two things. LOVE, and HOME. Atlanta is truly my city. After all the travel curiosity and research I’ve done, I’m truly happy to settle down here. 

