Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Sometimes we can’t see what is so plainly before us. Take, for instance, my example from this morning. I have been exercising a lot lately- a newfound hobby of mine. (The fast weight loss is also a newfound hobby!;)) This morning I set out to time myself to complete a run/walk (mostly walk) of 4 miles. It was 30 degrees this morning, and so I was bundled up from head to toe. I entered the gates of a beautiful neighborhood and was awe-struck by the beauty of the homes. I wasn’t paying careful attention; I was distracted by the architecture. In front of me was a shallow puddle of water and I saw it briefly, but decided quickly it couldn’t be frozen, and so I stepped on it. No sooner had I placed my foot on the mini skating rink did I fall to the ground, banging my knee hard on the cement.

In a moment of clarity, I recognized what I just experienced: we are often times distracted by something in life, and when we see what could be the enemy (devil) we either do not think it’s really the enemy, or do not see it clearly enough to recognize it at face value. My friends, the enemy is lurking around waiting to prey on us. “Be self controlled and alert. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour. Resist him, standing firm in the faith…” (1 Peter 5:8-9)

Please understand that the enemy is not necessarily something tangible, such as a person, “For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against rulers, against authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.” (Ephesians 6:12) In order to be prepared for battle, “Put on the full armor of God so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes.” (Eph 6:11) “Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand. Stand firm then, with the belt of truth… the breastplate of righteousness… the shield of faith… the helmet of salvation.” (Eph. 6:12-17) (Read the full portion here: http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Ephesians%206:%2010-17&version=NIV.)

God’s blessings to you.

